Thanksgiving weekend fun

Awesome Sister and I pulled out the dyepots this weekend.  It had been quite awhile since we had done this so it was a nice change of pace.

First up I’ll show Awesome Sister’s skeins.

1.  Sparkle sock (80/15/5  SW Merino/nylon/sparkle)

Dark grey, intense blue and scummy green

2. Cash DK (80/10/10 SW Merino/Cashmere/Nylon)

Self striping skein.  6 rows grey, 6 rows variegated blue

3.  SW Merino Worsted
split into two 50g balls for blanket squares
Hot pink (this is super bright!)
Forest Green

Awesome Sisters set:

Awesome Sister always gets such amazingly saturated colours.
Onto my skeins
1. Cash DK
Self striping skein, 6 rows pale grey, 1 row black, 4 rows variegated, 1 row black
(this is probably my favorite one)
2.Sparkle Sock
Burgundy, teal and gold

3. BFL Sock (80/20 BFL/Nylon)

I call this one Christmas Camouflage.  pink, turquoise, chartreuse, orange and piney green

This one turned out very pale compared to what I envisioned, but it should be nice any way.

My set:

——

I’ve already wound and cast on my dk stripe skein, and I’m so glad that it is working out. 🙂  All that swatching and measuring was worth it.

 

(bonus shot of Kitt learning how to model knits)

When I was thinking of the colours to use for my variegated stripe I read some interesting posts on colour theory.  The first is specifically for knitters and the 2nd more for designers, but it works for all colour stuff.

http://www.freshstitches.com/color-theory-101-selecting-yarns-that-go-together/

The split complementary scheme is definitely going to be useful for choosing shawl colours

 

http://www.tigercolor.com/color-lab/color-theory/color-theory-intro.htm

Here is where I found information on the rectangle colour scheme.

We have snuggles!  They don’t last forever but it is amazing progress

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

