Conflicting Thoughts

I finally managed to finish my current spinning project. It was Bugga Fiber from the Sanguine Gryphon (70/20/10 superwash merino/cashmere/nylon) in the colourway Burrowing Owl.

It became this beautiful, soft and squishy sportweight 2 ply yarn:

bugga burrowing owl

burrowing owl fiber

Burrowing owl fiber

I managed to get 313 yards from 4oz, which is incredible for me… however.

Spinning this nearly put my wrist out of commission. Permanently. There were days when I couldn’t even knit b/c the spinning had hurt my wrist so much.

I still can’t figure out what I was doing differently either. Was it the fiber content?, the horrendous prep on the fiber?, my technique?, the wheel? So many different factors.

I’ve decided to just jump back in though and try some sparkle bfl from woolgatherings out. If I’m okay with that then the last two factors can be discounted. Since I know the prep on woolgatherings is wonderful I won’t have to worry about that either. 🙂

new fiber

Edit:

I started the sparkle stuff on the 4th and it is now resting as singles, there were a few twinges in my wrist, but there wasn’t the pain that the burrowing owl brought. Let’s hope that was a one off.

IMG_5899

I have a lot more to share, but I’ll put that up with the finished yarn.

2 thoughts on “Conflicting Thoughts

  1. I am a pretty newbie spinner but I had a hell of a time spinning Bugga fiber, too. My spindle would slip and drop a lot more than with other fiber. I thought maybe it was the nylon content? But I have no idea. I much prefer spinning my Woolgatherings stuff, too.

    • It could have been the cashmere too, but I have no idea either. ;_; Maybe I need a book or dvd. 😉 When I tried to spin it on my spindle I had to do the park and draft method it just needs so much twist! Woolgatherings is definitely awesome, I want all her stuff!

Leave a Reply

