A Tale of Two Shawls

Woot! Lots of finishing going on this week. Finish it up August is definitely a success so far.

First, did I even blog the cast on for this shawl? I needed a quick birthday knit for my Mom. Something substantial enough to keep her warm in the car, but quick to whip off as well.

Pattern: Dinner at the Eiffel Tower
Yarn: Hand dyed “The purple one” in Cash dk x2 skeins
CO: July 21, 2012
BO: August 5, 2012

I had to change the last bit (lengthened the final lace section) because I didn’t listen to the designer and lengthened the ridges section. la.
pre-blocking:
mom shawl pre block

blocking:
mom shawl blocking

my camera really hated the subtle varigation of the yarn. So that’s the best picture I could get. ah well. Mom liked it and that is all that matters.

2nd FO of the week….

Pattern: Klieo!!!!!
Yarn: Sanguine Gryphon Eidos in (Coffin Fly) and (Chocolate Rhino) equivalents. (why can I only remember the bugga names for their colours?)
CO: December 19, 2011
BO: August 6, 2012

OMG I cannot relate to you how relieved it is to have this monkey off my back. I truly didn’t think I would forgive it all the trouble it caused me but once the ends were woven in… I love it.

Pre blocking:
kleio pre blocking

stalking Katie before its bath:
klieo preblocking and stalking Katie

blocking:
I don’t have enough pins to pin out every point, so I just made sure the lace was stretched out and the 2nd braid was straight-ish.
klieo blocking

lace close up: ♥♥♥
kleio lace

post-blocking:
this is one BIG SHAWL It is probably close to 6 foot long. I hung it under a shelf in my room and it is still there so I can admire it. 😀
kleio!

Next post will show the other milestones I’ve hit since August started.

Leave a Reply

