The REAL New Years post

… with numbers and resolutions and goals and everything. Sit back for this one.

First of all the 2011 crafting breakdown:

30 knit
16 crochet
1 woven
47 total items

I also had 4 spinning fo’s, but I’m not exactly sure how to categorize that, since after they are done they enter the stash.

The category breakdown:
12 socks
10 amigurumi
7 things for heads
6 things for hands
5 things for necks
1 sweater
1 blanket

The mega mosaic of project pictures!

fo_map_2011

The new hobby:

This year marked the death of weaving. Some poor internet shopping experiences and a very poor weaving experience put a damper on weaving in general. However, this freed up time to take up another auxiliary hobby. Spinning!

The resolutions:

It’s not having what you want, It’s wanting what you’ve got.

(yes I borrowed a line from a song, a free internet to anyone who guesses it first.)

2011 is going to be the year of the cold sheep. Cold sheeping is the practice of a chronic yarn stasher going ‘cold turkey’ on buying yarn. I won’t be adding to my stash until January of 2013.

The rules? I am not to spend any money acquiring new yarn for the next year.
The exceptions?
For yarn? None, I do have a (pre-paid) club shipment coming in February but that will be the last ‘new’ yarn in the house. ETA: If I have something already on the needles (prior to 2012) I can buy extra yarn to complete the project, if it needs it!!!
For Fiber? To buy more fiber I must have spun through my entire (small) fiber stash — excluding mawata.
For dyeing? If there is no blank yarn in the house an order can be made – must not use blanks to circumvent stash shopping.
The goal? Reduce amount of physical and mental space the stash takes up.

I realize that the ‘dyeing’ exception is a bit wishy washy, but I’ve written a full paragraph about it in my personal journal, this is just the cliff’s notes version.

So that’s it then. I’ll be shopping from my stash and trying to find projects to fit the yarn I already have. 🙂

Katie has resolved to relax on the couch more:

katie being katie

ETA: This is my 100th post!!! woot! :mrgreen:

Leave a Reply

